Skip to content

White whole wheat cheddar bread

August 7, 2011

I had been wondering about what white whole wheat  flour was and why it is not used or mentioned very much in most bread books.  It must be that it has only been in more use in the last 20 years. It makes for a milder,  much less bitter flavored bread than than those made with  red whole wheat flour. For those who aren’t too fond of  the bitterness, it is a good alternative. Another good thing is that it has the fiber, mineral, and vitamin content as regular whole wheat.  A friend brought it up in one of our food conversations  so I decided it was time to give it try.

I adapted Peter Reinhart’s “100% whole wheat sandwich bread”  recipe for this bread.  I used King Arthur whole white wheat flour for the  soaker, biga , and final dough.  I used buttermilk for the soaker which my friends had noticed as a slightly tangy flavor in the bread.   I then switched to bread flour when making final adjustments to the consistency.  It needed about 1/3 cup .  During the final kneading I added 1 cup of sharp cheddar cut into 1/4″ cubes.

For the final rise I placed it in a round banneton. The dough was a slightly bigger than should have been put in the banetton.  I gave the bulging loaf  an “X” slash on top right before placing it in the oven.  It made for a great looking flavorful  hearth bread.  If someone requests the recipe I’ll be glad to send it in a post.  My friends quickly suggested making  it with olives or carmelized onions.    I’ll be using white whole wheat flour more often.

a cold German beer comes to mind

cooling down
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

