Skip to content

Avocado-tomatillo guacamole

February 2, 2013

DSC_0683

I’ve come across several  guacamole recipes using tomatillo as one of the ingredients.  I don’t think I would have ever thought of the idea.  I’ve never  seen it in person or heard it mentioned by my Mexican co-workers in all my years of restaurant work. Even as I first came across it, I was skeptical of the combination until I recently tried my simple version.   Rick Bayless’ recipe in “Authentic Mexican, Regional Cooking from the Heart of Mexico” boils and purees the tomatillos before adding them to the rest of the ingredients. In “Truly Mexican”,  Roberto Santibanez  makes a salsa verde with tomatillos and purees it along with  avocados, mayo, garlic, lime juice to a make a creamy version.  Before  going through all those steps,  I was going to try just adding straight raw tomatillos to the avocado.  I was very pleasantly surprised with the flavor combination. I’ve been eating this as my dinner for the past several days.  Biting into the tartness of the tomatillos works great in the guacamole.

3 small Haas avocados

2 tomatillos

2 medium size peeled garlic cloves

1 small Serrano or jalapeno pepper (optional)

2 to 3  tablespoons small diced almost minced onion

Fresh lime juice to taste

Salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste

Crush and finely mince the garlic cloves and put in a mixing bowl.  Dice the tomatillos to a small to medium size  and add to the bowl along with the onion.  Open the avocados, remove the pit and score the flesh to the peel.  Scoop out the flesh with a spoon put it into the bowl.  Mix the ingredients together while crushing lightly with a fork.  Leave the avocado a bit chunky for  texture.  Add however much Serrano or jalapeno pepper as you wish. I added about 1/2 of a fire-roasted Serrano with some of the seeds removed.  Add the lime juice and  season with salt and pepper.   I’ve been using a molcajete and tejolote to work the guacamole.  I  crush the garlic and give the tomatillo and onion some light bruising to release flavors.  Biting into tomatillo is part of the appeal of this variation of guacamole.  Then I add and mix in the rest of the ingredients.  It also makes a great taco filling for corn or flour tortillas.

DSC_0731

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2013 2:11 am

    Great recipes and the photos are perfect with wonderful clarity! I always smoke and char the tomatillos on the bar-b-q. But I will try using fresh, did not know you could do that, very cool. The potato and poblano dip was great too. I am going to have a Bread and Tort dinner party soon and use your recipes, i’ll take pics.

Trackbacks

  1. Avocado-tomatillo guacamole - Continental Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

