Skip to content

Roberto Gonzalez: Sacred Waters

April 14, 2016

Hello/Hola dear friends and readers.  I’m writing this quick post to highly recommend to you the art exhibit,  Roberto Gonzalez: Sacred Waters,  at the “Centro de Artes” in the heart of downtown San Antonio.  Roberto is a highly esteemed artist and great friend of mine I’ve had the pleasure of knowing for many years.  It gave me great joy to find out he was exhibiting at “Centro de Artes”,  and more so because  his work is up during Fiesta Week San Antonio during which the city receives thousands of people from around the state of Texas and the U.S.  If you plan to be in the city,  give the museum a visit. If you are an out-of-towner going to Fiesta Week, the museum is conveniently located  in the middle of it all by the Mercado (Market Square).  If you are interested in contemporary and timeless Xicano art,  go see his magnificent work.

I spent a memorable afternoon visiting with Roberto as he gave me a personal tour of his paintings.  What an honor!  The personal imagery and vibrancy of his work stayed with me as we left the museum to find lunch.  From the evocative and meditative ambience of the museum we stepped into the bustling and dynamic atmosphere that is the city of San Antonio.  It was preparing for its biggest city wide cultural celebration, which was only a few days away.   We eventually found a couple of spots to sit and chat to catch up on what we’ve been up to in our lives lately.  I always get a sense of peace and well-being from him as we talk.  I had more questions to ask about his work and philosophy.  I thought it would be interesting to share his ideas and reflections about his art through “Bread and Tortillas”.  He was his usual gracious and generous self as he shared some insights into his work.  Through the coming weeks I’ll be posting the interview in parts.  Stay tuned!

His website can be found at http://www.robertojosegonzalez.com/     You’ll find that he is also a performance artist, composer, and musician.

“Centro de Artes” is located right on the Market Square at:  101 S. Santa Rosa Avenue       210-784-1105      It is open Tuesday-Sunday  10 AM to 5 PM.

His exhibit will be up through June 19.

Kociyo

 

Roberto G. exhibit

Roberto G.

From his “Artist Statement”:

“The Xicano artist works as an agent to restore our cultural spirit before all is lost, before we all become the same.  Being a Xicano artist is and has always been a searching reflex.  The search is for cultural attachments.  The separation and loss of connection to Madre Mexico has been profound historically. It forced Xicanos to have the need for developing a new selfhood.”

“My path as an artist is a practice of the following.  Being,  secure attachment to self,  natural state,  conscious integration,  mindful bonding,  creative and spiritual transformation, enlightenment,  liberation, and oneness.  All of this is in support of my reverie in the studio when I begin work and in the very real sacred space of the creative moment.  It is a grace of oneness in creation,  soma in bliss. Who I am becoming,  is who I am as an artist.”

 

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2016 6:01 am

    Wow! Beautiful work 🙂

  2. April 14, 2016 1:39 pm

    Stunning and so interesting! I did a lot of research on cultural identity, my area was looking at Irish literature as postcolonial. I am very much looking forward to your interview, as well as to more pictures!

  3. Marcella Rousseau permalink
    April 16, 2016 6:57 pm

    What a thrill to have your own private tour! Such a great experience to be able to ask the artist what he was thinking when he did this or that or chose this color, etc. An inside view to a piece of art makes it so much more interesting. I will be looking forward to your interview and to learning more about your friend. If I remember correctly, you mentioned him when you first began your blog. It looks like he uses “sun catchers” in his work. It’s funny, just the other day someone used them on the back window of their car and I thought what a nice idea. I have some kept in a drawer. I used to have them on my windows and my patio door but I took them down. I don’t remember why. Maybe because they kept falling off. I love one of the ones that I have. It’s of a downhill skier. (I used to ski.) I also have a great one of a baby grand piano. Your friend would love that one : – )

    • April 23, 2016 2:57 pm

      Hello Marcella, Thanks for your comments! It really was nice to have a private tour of the exhibit. Art can inspiring and mysterious. For him to give some insight into what he was doing was very helpful to me to understand better. I think some people stay away from art galleries because the objects just don’t make sense to them. However, we can still feel something from them even though we can’t quite put a meaning to it. He made the exhibit that much more enjoyable by adding some insight to his paintings and drawings.
      I hope all has been going well for you. We’ve been enjoying the nice spring weather down here. I imagine you are working on your lawn and garden just about now! Healthy for the body and soul, right?

      • Marcella Rousseau permalink
        April 25, 2016 6:37 pm

        I’m glad you enjoyed the tour. I know I would have loved it myself. You’re correct, I’ve started early plantings and tree trimming. My son was helping me yesterday remove some gnarly trees that were overtaking my yard. We still have more to do but the past 2 days have been gorgeous and a crime to be indoors so I’ve been outside as much as possible. How about you? Sounds like you are getting the same beautiful weather.

    • April 28, 2016 12:05 am

      It was an unusually mild winter so I’m wondering what spring and summer will bring, but yes it has been beautiful outside. Fortunately, I have 2 nephews who don’t mind assisting if I need help with things in the yard.
      I hope you’re having a good and productive week!

      • Marcella Rousseau permalink
        May 9, 2016 5:19 pm

        Yes, we had a mild winter too. Now we are having a lot of rain and expect more all week. My son has been helping me with yard work but with all the rain, we’ve had to postpone the work. I did manage to get all my seeds planted thought and all the rain will help make sure they survive and grow which saves me the trouble of going out there and watering them so the soil doesn’t crust over. I’ve been busy, that’s for sure! I hope you have a good and productive week too!

  4. Gene Piersa permalink
    April 21, 2016 5:32 pm

    WOW, Amazing People, Paintings, Words!

    • April 23, 2016 1:08 am

      Thank you for checking out the post! Yes, its all very interesting work from Roberto. Thank you for following! More to come soon.

Leave a comment